Illinois Driver’s License Reinstatement Lawyers
Get Behind the
Wheel Again!

Contact Alan R. Kurash to get your Illinois
driver’s license reinstated now 630.908.7680

DUI License
Revocation

Contact Alan R. Kurash to get your Illinois
driver’s license reinstated now 630.908.7680

Out of State
License Reinstated!

Contact Alan R. Kurash to get your Illinois
driver’s license reinstated now 630.908.7680

Restore Your
Driving Privileges

Contact Alan R. Kurash to get your Illinois
driver’s license reinstated now 630.908.7680

I got my driver’s
license back!

Contact Alan R. Kurash to get your Illinois
driver’s license reinstated now 630.908.7680

DUI Sentencing & Penalties

Illinois has very harsh sentencing and penalties when it comes to DUIs. The following information is a summary of what the sentencing laws in Illinois are for a DUI. The laws continue to change and become more severe and if you are a first time offender for a DUI, it is usually considered to be a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a fine of up to $2,500 and up to one year in prison.

There are several different sentences that can accompany a misdemeanor DUI offense, which include court supervision, probation and conditional discharge. There are also mandatory sentences for some misdemeanor DUI offenses, including:

  • If you have a DUI with a BAC of .16 or higher
    • Your first offense: $500 fine and a minimum of 100 hours of community service
    • Your second offense: $1,250 fine and a minimum of 2 days in prison
    • A third offense will be charged as a felony
  • If you receive a DUI while driving a child under the age of 16
    • Your first offense: Fine of $1,000, 6 months’ time in prison and 25 days of community service in a program that benefits children
    • Your second offense will be charged as a felony

There are many different types of situations in which you may be charged with a felony for getting a DUI. A felony is considered to be any offense that has a penalty of over 364 days in prison, which is usually served in the Illinois Department of Corrections.

There are different classes of felonies in Illinois that begin with Class 4 and go up to a Class X felony:

  • Class 4 Felony DUI: Up to $25,000 fine and 1-3 years in prison
  • Class 3 Felony DUI: Up to $25,000 fine and 2-5 years in prison
  • Class 2 Felony DUI: Up to $25,000 fine and 3-7 years in prison
  • Class 1 Felony DUI: Up to $25,000 fine and 4-15 years in prison
  • Class X Felony DUI: Up to $25,000 fine and 6-30 years in prison

Felony DUI offenses may be classified by the following:

  • If it’s your third DUI: Class 2 Felony
  • If it’s your fourth DUI: Class 2 Felony
  • If it’s your fifth DUI: Class 1 Felony
  • If it’s your 6th or subsequent DUI: Class X Felony

Free Consultation with a Chicago DUI Defense Lawyer

The Kurash Law Firm can provide you with answers and solutions to your current situation. There is “No Fee” for your initial consultation. Call us at 630-908-7680 today to get started.